Homeschooling in Alabama Option 2
Before I begin this blog regarding homeschooling options for Alabama, I want to begin by stating that it is your responsibility to research the law for yourself. I am relaying the available and current information that is subject to change. I have provided many links that will enable you to view the current laws online and to help put you in touch with local area and organizational support groups.
There are two homeschooling options for the state of Alabama. The first option is to establish or enroll in a church school and the second option is to use a private tutor. The compulsory school age for children in the state of Alabama is between the ages of 7-16. This blog post will take a look at Option 2.
Option 2 requires using a private tutor. For this option, the teacher must be certified and attendance laws are enacted. The certified teacher/tutor must instruct 140 days per year, and at least 3 hours a day between the hours of 8 A.M. and 4 P.M.
Required subjects include reading, writing, spelling, math, English, US history, Science, Geography, P.E., Health, and the history of Alabama.
A statement that explains the subjects taught and time of instruction will be filed with the local superintendent. A log or register is required to be maintained. The register should include samples of the child’s work, daily attendance, and any reports that would be deemed applicable by the Alabama State Board of education.
Here is a link to the Alabama legislature, where you can keep an eye out for any legal processes that may have a direct result on homeschooling laws in
http://www.hslda.org/laws/analysis/Alabama.pdf Home School Legal Defense Analysis of laws