Homeschooling in California: Option 2
*Before I begin this article regarding homeschooling options for California, I want to begin by stating that it is your responsibility to research the law for yourself. I am relaying the available and current information that is subject to change. I have provided many links that will enable you to view the current laws online and to help put you in touch with local area and organizational support groups. *
Compulsory School Age
“between the ages of 6″ by December 2 and “under 18 years of age”
There are four different options for legal homeschooling in California. This article will focus on Option 2, but I will give a brief overview of all four options.
· Option 1- The Home School qualifies and operates as a private school by filling out an annual private school affidavit.
· Option 2- The Home School has instruction provided by a certified private tutor
· Option 3- The child is enrolled in an independent study program at home and used public school curriculum- the child is considered enrolled in public school and must follow public school rules and guidelines
· Option 4- The Home School is enrolled in a private school satellite program and takes independent study. The Independent Study program must comply with California Education Code 48222. Option 4 Private Satellite schools have grown and include several hundred families across the state of California.
If a parent is a certified teacher and holds those credentials, they may teach their children under the certified private tutor exception. They may also hire a certified private tutor to provide instruction for their children. Attendance requirements include 175 days per year and at let 3 hour per day. Subjects taught must be the same as in public school and instruction must be provided in the English language. There is no need to file an affidavit with the Superintendent or maintain an attendance register when using this option. There are also no testing requirements that need to be adhered to.