Homeschooling In Nebraska

This is not legal advice. As someone who lives in a state that is highly regulated, I cannot emphasize enough the need for you to advocate for yourself and make a point to know your state laws. While the school district will most likely provide you with a printed copy of the laws and regulations for home schooling, a local home schooling group can be a valuable asset when it comes to navigating your way through the system.

Nebraska’s Home school statute is fairly straight forward. You are legally allowed to simply operate a home school. The legalese says that you are allowed to object to sending your children to public school based on religious or non-religious objections. However, the forms that you use differ based on which option you choose.

To homeschool legally parents must:

Each file separate a Parent or Guardian Form. Basically the form states that you don’t want to send your child to school. You must affirm under oath that a sequential program in the basic subjects (see required subjects below) is being provided. Parents must also agree to comply with vaccination requirements.

Also, an adult, usually the parent but not necessarily, is responsible for filing a Parent Representative form which indicates that the program is being followed, that parents will submit attendance records and that there is someone monitoring the homeschool program. (The monitor is usually the parent.)

Finally parents must submit an Information Summary (prior to the start of homeschooling and by October 1 thereafter), which includes the following:

*A calendar for the year that includes when the homeschool is beginning and when it is ending as well as major vacations.

*A list of anyone who is teaching the child (also referred to as instructional monitors). For each instructional monitor you must list their name, address, age, highest

*Ascope and sequence for each grade level.

Compulsory Attendance: The compulsory age is 6 to 18. The cutoff date is January 1st so if your child will be turning six on Dec. 31st, then he is of compulsory age. Parents may exempt a child under 7 from going to school by signing a notarized statement. In addition, parents may exempt a child over age 16 from attendance by signing a notarized statement. The child may also graduate before age 18 when he has finished the course of study.

Attendance: 1,032 hours of instruction are required for elementary school and 1,080 hours are required for high school.

Required Subjects: Language Arts, math, social studies, science and health.

Teacher Qualifications: There are none unless the family employs a tutor.

Standardized Tests: The law allows for testing and home visitations to be required. However, the attorney general has ruled that if this is to occur it must be a uniform procedure for all home schools and therefore, the Board of Education has chosen not to require these.

Helpful Resources:

HSLDA

A to Z Homeschooling

State Organizations

Christian Home Educators Association

Western Nebraska Home Educators Network

Leave a Reply