Homeschooling Laws in Montana

This is not legal advice. As someone who lives in a state that is highly regulated, I cannot emphasize enough the need for you to advocate for yourself and make a point to know your state laws. While the school district will most likely provide you with a printed copy of the laws and regulations for home schooling, a local home schooling group can be a valuable asset when it comes to navigating your way through the system.

In Montana, parents who wish to home school do so by operating their own home school. (As opposed to being able to educate other children who are not family members in your home.) The home school must then comply with the following:

1. Maintain attendance and immunization records which must be available for inspection by the county superintendent upon request.

2. The home must comply with health and safety regulations (for homes, not for schools.)

3. Provide a total of 720 hours of instruction for grades 1-3 or 1,080 hours of instruction for grades 4-12.

4. Annually notify the local superintendent of the intent to home school.

5. Provide an organized course of study, however, neither the school board nor the superintendent can approve a home school.

Compulsory Age: The child must be age 7 on or before the first day of school. Children must attend school until the later of these two dates: the child’s 16th birthday or the date of completion of 8th grade.

Required Subjects: Homeschools should provide the same basic instructional program as do public schools.

There are no specified requirements for standardized testing or teacher certification.

Helpful Websites:

HSLDA

A to Z Homeschooling

State Wide Support Groups

Montana Coalition of Home Educators

Leave a Reply