Marriage Laws – Nebraska & Kansas

We’re continuing with our marriage laws series. With only a few stops left on our travels across the states, we’re firmly across the Mississippi River with stops in Nebraska and Kansas. So without further ado, let’s take a look at the marriage laws that govern Nebraska and Kansas.

Nebraska

You do not need to be a resident of the state to marry in it. You do need to provide the date of dissolution for any previous marriage. Also, you may need to wait six months following a divorce before getting remarried. When you go to apply for a marriage license, be prepared to present a valid photo ID, your social security numbers, the names of your parents as well as your mother’s maiden name and the place where your parents were born. The marriage license fee is just $15 and there is no blood test required.

Nebraska does not allow for:

  • Covenant Marriage
  • Proxy Marriage
  • Cousin Marriage
  • Same-Sex Marriage

If you are under the age of 19, you will need to present a certified copy of your birth certificates as well as have consent forms signed and notarized by your parents. Applicants under the age of 17 are not allowed to marry in Nebraska. Also, be prepared to present at least two witnesses to your marriage ceremony. Your Nebraska marriage license will be valid for up to 1 year.

To obtain a copy of your Nebraska marriage certificate, be sure to contact the County Clerk’s office where you originally obtained your marriage license.

Kansas

Applicants do not need to be a resident of Kansas. Only one of you needs to be present to submit your application at the County Clerk’s office. However, you need to provide all the proper documentation for both you and your spouse to be including Driver’s license and social security cards.

If you were married previously you will need the date of the divorce decree or death. You will also have to wait a minimum of 30 days after your divorce is finalized to marry again. There is no need for a blood or medical test prior to applying for a marriage license. License fees run about $50 with a $25 surcharge. Bring cash as most counties don’t accept anything else.

You will have a three-day waiting period after applying for your marriage license.

Kansas does not allow for:

  • Proxy Marriage
  • Cousin Marriage
  • Same Sex Marriage

Common law marriages are recognized in Kansas. If either applicant is under 18, you need have parental and judicial permission. The youngest you can get married in Kansas is 15. Applicants under 15 will need a judge’s special consideration to get married and only if it can be proven if marriage is in the best interest of the minor applying.

To obtain a copy of your Kansas Marriage Certificate:

Office of Vital Statistics
Curtis State Office Building
1000 SW Jackson, Suite 120
Topeka, KS 66612-2221

The above information should be taken as guidance only, legal requirements for state and county marriage licenses change often. Please verify the necessary paperwork and more with the office of the county clerk prior to making your wedding plans

This entry was posted in Marriage Law and tagged , , , by Heather Long. Bookmark the permalink.

About Heather Long

Heather Long is 35 years old and currently lives in Wylie, Texas. She has been a freelance writer for six years. Her husband and she met while working together at America Online over ten years ago. They have a beautiful daughter who just turned five years old. She is learning to read and preparing for kindergarten in the fall. An author of more than 300 articles and 500+ web copy pieces, Heather has also written three books as a ghostwriter. Empty Canoe Publishing accepted a novel of her own. A former horse breeder, Heather used to get most of her exercise outside. In late 2004, early 2005 Heather started studying fitness full time in order to get herself back into shape. Heather worked with a personal trainer for six months and works out regularly. She enjoys shaking up her routine and checking out new exercises. Her current favorites are the treadmill (she walks up to 90 minutes daily) and doing yoga for stretching. She also performs strength training two to three times a week. Her goals include performing in a marathon such as the Walk for Breast Cancer Awareness or Team in Training for Lymphoma research. She enjoys sharing her knowledge and experience through the fitness and marriage blogs.

Leave a Reply