Night Time

See the shadows as they creep like vines. The sun is sinkin’ and I love this time. I guess I’m just — hoo hoo — a night owl. The stars are winkin’ and the hillside glows. The moon’s invitin’ us out so let’s go. I guess we’re just — hoo hoo — night owls.

Dan Zanes and Friends have one more great CD under their belts. Well-known songs as well as originals grace this CD, just like Dan’s others. “Night Time” is not just for bedtime and it is definitely a CD to listen to while chilling out and spending quality time with your family.

Father Goose (A.K.A. Rankin’ Don) joins Dan on a couple of songs. “Side by Side” is a favorite of Dan’s because his mother-in-law and father-in-law sang it for his wife at her birthday party one year. It is a favorite about strong friendship — that no matter what happens, it’s friends for life. The Dandelion Chorus join Dan and Father Goose on “Rattlin’ Bog.” This is a silly song about animals and things in a bog “down in the valley-o.” “Rattlin’ Bog” is a fun song to learn and sing with your kids. This is one of my favorites on this CD.

So many more great songs are on “Night Time.” The timeless song made famous by Louis Armstrong, “What a Wonderful World,” is another track. Lou Reed and the Rubi Theater Company join Dan in this soulful, easy version. Lou Reed’s voice is a nice deep contrast to Dan’s soothing voice in this song. The Rubi Theater Company does a great job with the beatboxes and ad-libbing poetry during the instrumental break. “Pay Me My Money Down” is an old sea song from the West Indies. Just like the title suggests, it is about paying money you owe someone or going to jail — basically about justice. Apparently this is a very popular song requested whenever Dan performs.

“Night Time” is a fun CD that is great to listen to while you’re relaxing. My daughter likes to listen to it while she takes her bath at night, right before she goes to bed. I guarantee that you and your family will enjoy it just as much as we do.

For more information, please visit Festival Five Records.

“Night Time” is available at CDBaby, Amazon, Best Buy, and other retailers.

“Night Time” Track Listing

  • Night Owl (with Aimee Mann)
  • Pay Me My Money Down (with The Rocket Ship Revue)
  • Side By Side (with Father Goose)
  • Guysborough Railway (with Donald Saaf)
  • Que Fortunidad! (with Barbara Brousal)
  • Evening Time (with The Sandy Girls)
  • Smile Smile Smile
  • Siyahamba
  • Down By the Riverside
  • Rattlin’ Bog (with Father Goose and the Dandelion Chorus)
  • Firefly
  • So Long It’s Been Good to Know Yuh (with John Doe)
  • What a Wonderful World (with Lou Reed and The Rubi Theater Company)
  • Wild Mountain Thyme (with Dar Williams)
  • Leadbelly Songs
  • Linger for Awhile