The 2008 Golden Raspberry Awards

It is time for the Golden Raspberry Awards, more affectionately known as the Razzies. Well, at least affectionately by those not receiving one.

While the Oscars honor the best films of the year, the Razzies “honor” the worst. Since 1981, the Razzies have razzed the best of the worst. The awards are given out the day before the Oscars, but typically the winners don’t show up for the ceremony.

While some entertainers reluctantly accept their Razzie awards after the ceremony, a few have actually showed up to accept their awards in person. The first was director Paul Verhoeven who won Worst Director for Showgirls. Yes, Showgirls was really, really bad, but Verhoeven had the last laugh. It is so bad that is has become a cult classic and is still very popular thirteen years after its release. Tom Green took home much of the plastic (which is what the trophy is made of) in 2001 for his Freddy Got Fingered. Not only did Green show up in a white Cadillac, bringing his own red carpet, he had to be dragged off the stage after accepting his five Razzies.

So, who stunk up the big screen this year? The worst movie nominees are Disaster Movie and Meet the Spartans (because they both used the same bad concept), The Happening, The Hottie and the Nottie, In the Name of the King: A Dungeon Siege Tale, and The Love Guru.

Worst Actor nominees are Larry the Cable Guy (for Witless Protection), Eddie Murphy (for Meet Dave), Mike Myers (for The Love Guru), Al Pacino (for 88 Minutes and Righteous Kill), and Mark Wahlberg (for The Happening and Max Payne).

The Worst Actress nominees are Jessica Alba (for The Eye and The Love Guru), the entire cast of The Women (Annette Bening, Eva Mendes, Debra Messing, Jada Pinkett-Smith, and Meg Ryan), Cameron Diaz (for What Happens in Vegas), Paris Hilton (for The Hottie or the Nottie), and Kate Hudson (Fools’ Gold and My Best Friend’s Girl).

Worst Director nominees are Uwe Boll (a multiple offender with 1968: Tunnel Rats, In the Name of the King: A Dungeon Siege Tale, and Postal), Jason Friedberg & Aaron Seltzer (for Disaster Movie and Meet the Spartans), Tom Putnam (for The Hottie and the Nottie), Marco Schnabel (for The Love Guru), and M. Night Shyamalan (for The Happening).